David McCormick has been selected to present on the development of novel agents to treat sleep-disordered breathing (SDB; sleep apnea) at the invitation-only Science2Startup (S2S)™ symposium on April 23, 2019, in Cambridge. The presenting group of 12 was selected from 175 presentation submissions from 64 institutions across 3 continents.

The Science2Startup (S2S)™ symposium is aimed at strengthening connections between biotech investors and therapeutics researchers at the world’s top academic research institutions and will be held at the Broad Institute of MIT and Harvard. The day-long event will feature presentations of promising therapeutics in development, ones that could be part of a new generation of startups, by the participating universities’ principal investigators.

The S2S presenters are:

  • Steven J. Ackerman, Professor, University of Illinois at Chicago, and Vadim Gaponenko, Associate Professor, University of Illinois at Chicago, developing a novel CCR3-biased antagonist nanoparticle therapeutic for asthma and eosinophilic esophagitis.
  • Michelle Arkin, Professor, University of California, San Francisco, harnessing the chaperone 14-3-3 to target transcription factors and beat breast cancer.
  • Kambez Benam, Assistant Professor, University of Colorado Denver, developing novel host-targeting anti-influenza therapeutics.
  • Michael Demetriou, Professor, University of California Irvine, developing a novel immunotherapy to kill diverse cancer types with a single agent.
  • Gerald Dorn II, Professor, Washington University in St. Louis, developing mitofusin agonists for peripheral nerve disease.
  • Christiane Ferran, Professor, Beth Israel Deaconess Medical Center and Harvard Medical School, developing a novel therapy to achieve glycemic control.
  • William Hawkins, Professor, Washington University School of Medicine in St. Louis, developing a two domain anti-cancer therapeutic providing three advantageous properties.
  • Louise Hecker, Associate Professor, University of Arizona, developing a NOX4 inhibitor for fibrosis.
  • Caroline Le Poole, Professor, Feinberg School of Medicine Northwestern University, developing a modified heat shock protein (HSP70I) based treatment of vitiligo.
  • David McCormick, President, IIT Research Institute and Professor, Illinois Institute of Technology, developing novel agents to treat sleep-disordered breathing (SDB; sleep apnea).
  • Mukesh K. Nyati, Associate Professor, University of Michigan, developing DGD1202 for EGFR-TKI resistant lung cancers.
  • Philip Reigan, Associate Professor, University of Colorado, targeting WEE1 kinase for brain tumor treatment.